IMGMA Committees

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee promotes IMGMA activities and interests to members and seeks to recruit new IMGMA members. The committee is responsible for overseeing the IMGMA website and newsletter.
Committee members have a visible presence at the spring and fall conferences and hold new member orientation at these events. The committee strives for membership representing all areas of the state


 Committee Chair

Darla Stone
Committee Members
Rich Armstrong
Colton Cornwell 
Doug Darnell 
Brian Grimes
Peggy Hanner
Steve Juve
Kathleen Schuster
Mark Thayer
Ashley Thomas
Sandy Viers (Board Liaison)


Payer Relations Committee

The Payer Relations Committee acts as a liaison between the insurance carriers, and other entities whose policies or operations may have a financial impact on the delivery of healthcare, and physician offices.
The committee is comprised of members from all areas of the state. The objective is to provide a committee contact who is accessible to membership in their own geographic area. It is the intent of this committee to work closely with carriers on any subject that would affect the provider community.
Members of the committee are listed along with their general geographic location in the state.  If you have questions or comments for the committee, please start with a contact to a member of the committee in your region of the state.  They may be best equipped to assist you and best informed with regional I & R issues. 




Committee Co-Chairs
Darcy Fahrenkrug (SE)

Holli Lancaster (Central)


Committee Members
Tricia Banowetz (NE)
Michelle Davis (NW)
Jeff Hanson (NE)
Trisha Hohnecker (NE)
Kay Spear (Central)
Nancy Swanson (NW)
Megan Threlkeld (SE)
Cindy Tripp (Central)
Trina Tucker (SE)
Mary Jane Zismer (SE)
Michalel Flesher (Guest IMS)



Legislative Committee

The Legislative Committee shall monitor and influence state and federal legislation and administrative policy which may impact the practice of medicine in Iowa and subsequently the members of IMGMA.
It shall, according to policy approved by the IMGMA board, recommend adoption to the board specific policy provisions on particular legislative bills or administrative policy, which do not conflict with the mission of IMGMA and promote action on these policies. The goal of the membership in the committee would be to have representatives from each Federal congressional district as the composition of the Legislative Committee.



Committee Chair
Dave Weiss
Committee Members
Rich Armstrong (Board Liaison)
Kim Burchett
Jodi Faustlin
Alex Galindo
Julie Jaksich
Matt Mullins
LeAnn Paulsen
Rob Poetting
Mark Thayer
Jennifer Tinnermeier
Dennis Tibben (Guest IMS)
Matt Eide (IMGMA Lobbyist)
Kate Walton (IMGMA Lobbyist)

Professional Development Committee

The Professional Development Committee develops and plans the spring and fall educational conferences. The committee’s main focus is on educational content, but they have input on all aspects of conference development including site locations and meeting dates. The committee strives for membership representing all areas of the state. 




Committee Chair
Jessica Umthun
Committee Members
Richard Armstrong (Board Liaison)
Julie Barto 
Jillian Boardman
Matt Evans
Molly Flynn
Steve Juve
Skip Lowe
Jennifer Moore
Joetta Promes (Board Liaison)
Joe Soda
Jenni Talbott (Board Liaison)

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee provides oversight of the finances of IMGMA and reports to the IMGMA Board of Directors.  The Finance Committee
would conduct or initiate periodic reveiws by a 3rd party to validate IMGMA financial processes and standings.




Committee Chair
Sandy Viers
Committee Members
Richard Armstrong
Jodi Faustlin
Joel Gehling
Peggy Hanner